teacher, tailor, chemist, sailor, rich man, poor man, fisherman, thief

As the rhyme above suggests our ancestors have been involved in some varied occupations and professions. Some very reputable; some patriotic; some have reaped the benefits of hard work and risk taking; others have not been so lucky; some have made a living on the waters, rivers and lakes of our country; and, still others have taken unlawful risks and paid the penalty.

Each month I profile some of our ancestors in their various professions. Click on the home page and select from the menu on the right to view.

Who are these people?

Don’t you recognise them? These are the people who made us what we are today.


William Henry SUTTON (1808~1879) – School Master;
Robert BUCK (1822~1895) – Tailor;
Jane Penelope WELLINGTON (1818~1896) – Chemist’s daughter;
Thomas Basil (Gunner) GASCOIGNE (1891~1961) – Sailor.

3 thoughts on “teacher, tailor, chemist, sailor, rich man, poor man, fisherman, thief

  1. Hi Susan,
    Thoroughly Enjoyed your work. I am an old Gosfordite, going through the lists & seing primary school mates & families from Narara & Wyoming was great, My Father W. Anderson is mentioned.
    I have found the graves of Ella Jane etc at Point Clare, In the 50s I can remember going out with my parents & chopping down the privett to clear the graves. Today the are unmarked but in a mown area,
    I am interested in a W Smith you mentioned. My Mother was a Smith from Taree, they go back to Stirling UK.
    Regards
    Don Anderson

    • Hi Don,
      Thank you for your feedback and getting in touch. I have a copy of a photo of Ella Jane as a young woman, I received it from Margaret OLDING who is descended from her sister Myrtle Ellrington TAYLOR (married name GREEN).

      The William SMITH on my tree was the 1st husband of my gr-gr-grandfather’s 2nd wife Mary HALL. I don’t know much about him other than he was an army saddler and was possibly serving with the Duke of Wellington’s forces at the Battle of Waterloo in 1815. Or arrived as part of the occupying forces based in Brussels, Belgium soon after the victory over Napoleon’s forces at Waterloo. Mary Hall and William Smith were married in Brussels on 4 Oct 1815. She was a widow in 1824 when she married Hart BUCK in Grantham, Lincolnshire.

      William SMITH could have come from anywhere in England. He probably met Mary HALL in Brussels as she may have been a governess or a ladies companion, she was 28 years at time of her marriage to William. Mary’s father was Mr William HALL, grazier of Pointon in Lincolnshire.

      Kind regards
      Susan

  2. Hi there! I could have sworn I’ve visited your blog before but after looking at a few of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyhow, I’m definitely delighted I discovered it and I’ll be
    book-marking it and checking back frequently!

Leave a Reply

